#EatDrinkBeMerry: Washington, D.C.

Howdy ho traveling friends! I spent this past weekend in Alexandria, VA with my parents, sister, BIL, and perfect little niece. It was a great little family weekend, and we had so much fun spending time with the little one. Since Alexandria is so close to D.C. (under 20 minutes), most of our daytime activities were in the city, so I figured it’d be appropriate to do my #EDBM post on D.C. vs Alexandria. 😉

**Disclaimer: since it really was a family weekend, and we’ve visited the area plenty of times before, I wouldn’t say these would be at the top of any tourist attractions list. But, we still enjoyed these places + activities, so they’re still worth checking out! If you are visiting the area for the first time and would like more “must-see” type of suggestions, leave a comment below and I can definitely give you those! 🙂


 Eat: HipCityVeg 

My favorite food place this weekend was HipCityVeg. We went there for lunch on Saturday, and you can smell the freshness of their ingredients as you walk in, which I definitely loved! Their philosophy entails choosing plant-based ingredients and compostable materials, which helps the environment all around us, as well as our bodies in general. Take a look at their full story on their website – it’s amaze!

Besides having a great cause behind the kitchen, the food itself was so good. I was thoroughly impressed with how tasty everything was, despite the fact that it was all vegetarian! My family + I are vegetarian, so I usually give many brownie points when we find good eats without the meats. 😉

Here’s all that we ordered from there, and really enjoyed (I apologize for not taking any photos of the actual food. We actually ended up taking the food to go so that my niece could take her afternoon nap in peace, and by the time we got home, we were all so hungry that the food got devoured before I even had the chance to remember to take any photos…oops!)

  • Massaman tofu wrap
  • Crispy Hipcity Ranch*
  • Chipotle Fajita Wrap*
  • Lil’ Golden Nugs*
  • Sweet Potato Fries*
  • Organic Kale Lemonade
  • Carrot Ginger Lemonade* (photo featured below)

*my faves

edbm_dc_1


Drink: Blackwall Hitch 

On Saturday evening, my sister, BIL + I went to Old Town Alexandria to grab a drink at Blackwall Hitch. As soon as we walked in I fell in love with the place, for multiple reasons. Inside the bar, which is pretty spacious I must say, there was a band playing live music (who doesn’t love live music at a bar?!). Then we walked out to the back deck, because the bar is located right on the Potomac River, which makes it quite a sight to see (esp at night!). On the outdoor bar, they had the most perfect playlist going for a chill Saturday evening with my sibs, for us to grab a drink and catch up. Think Colbie Cailat + Dave Matthews Band, and everything in between. Perfection, right? I was so heart happy that evening. So much so that I forgot to take any photos again…I really dropped the ball on taking photos of my activities this weekend, my apologies! I promise it won’t happen again. 🙂 BUT, I really enjoyed this place because of the ambiance + the bartender made us some great drinks!


 Be Merry: The Navy Yard 

On Sunday, we all went to Washington Navy Yard, and it was so fun! It’s right on the Anacostia River, so of course the view was awesome! Thankfully the weather was great, so we got to enjoy the outdoors and take my niece out. They have this area where they have some small water fountains for the kiddos to play in, as well as this wading pool that they can play in as well. 🙂 My niece really enjoyed it, and so did we! There are a bunch of restaurants right on the river as well, which I’m sure would be fun to eat and have a drink at. We ended up eating at Kruba Thai and Sushi, which was a couple blocks away (their food was pretty tasty too!).

My recommendation of “things to do” in D.C. is usually outdoorsy things, esp when the weather is nice! D.C. has so much beauty, and so many fun things to do outdoors as well. I recommend all of the Smithsonian museums as well. 🙂

EDBM_DC_2.JPG

Overall, we had so much fun in VA/D.C., mainly because we got to spend some good quality time with my sister and her family, without having a bunch of plans jam-packed into the weekend.

If you’re going to be visiting the area for the first time soon, and would like some more ‘touristy’ suggestions, please feel free to let me know! I’d love to share some more. 🙂

Okie dokie, time to go research my next weekend getaway! Where are you off to next? Comment below, I’d love to hear! ‘Til next time, loves – xoxo.

 

signature

Leave a Reply

