Workout With Me @ Aerial Barre Yoga!

Hi there Squatters! I’ve seen aerial yoga become increasingly popular over the past few years, so I decided to give it a try earlier this year + it was so much fun! Definitely much harder than it looks, but fun nonetheless. Hanging upside down + all around in a silk hammock requires a lot of core strength (plus a little bit of trust), so it’s a great workout. So when I came across this aerial barre yoga class I knew I had to try it. I’ve never done a barre class before (on my to-try list though!), but I figured why not combine the two and give a shot. Y’all…it was such a challenging workout! I was actually sweating and yes, there were a few times I wanted to give up + leave, but I’m glad I didn’t. ;).

ss_aerialbarre8

I took the class this past Saturday with Ginger Shirley at Aerial Yoga Houston. She was a great instructor, despite how difficult the class can be. There were a couple of us newbies in a class of about 8 ladies, so she made sure to tell us when to not follow along on a couple of the more advanced moves.

Most of the class focused on strengthening the core + stretching out every part of the body, while also focusing on your breath. Personally, I want to incorporate yoga more and more into my life, however focusing on my breath is something I’ve always seemed to struggle with. Regardless, I think practice makes perfect, so I just need to keep at it!

The location of the Aerial Yoga Houston studio is awesome too. It’s near the Houston Heights area + you can also kind of see the Houston downtown skyline from the back wall of windows. I think the only thing lacking from the studio was a wall of mirrors in the front. When I did my first aerial yoga class at Your Body Yoga & Pilate Center, the front wall of mirrors made it so much easier to look at the instructor’s form + your form throughout the class.

All in all, I had a great time and, as always, I enjoyed trying something new! Now I know that I need to strengthen my core a little more before giving that class a shot again. ;).

What’s your current favorite workout class? Comment below, I’d love to try some new ones!

signature

 

One thought on “Workout With Me @ Aerial Barre Yoga!

  1. My favourite class workout is Zumba and Body pump but I definitely should give yoga a try especially after I just read your blog! It is always nice to try new things😊 Happy Holidays❤️ Xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

